top of page

Taste for the Unknown

As previously discussed in a blog of mine, my desire to travel the world and experience new culture is the main driving force behind my study of journalism. Beginning at a young age, wanderlust has flooded my veins-never allowing myself to become confined or defined by the space around me at any given moment in time. While I am currently restricted in my travels by my studies and lack of funding, I am taking steps every day to plan out every destination I wish to hit before the age of 30.

I began college at the University of South Carolina in 2013 studying biochemistry and microbiology, believing that I wanted to pursue the life of a surgeon. It wasn’t until two years later that I realized I felt trapped by my decision to commit the remaining years of my 20’s to medical school, confining myself to the safety of a library with my head pushed into a book at all times. I decided I needed to take a step back and reevaluate what I really valued in life and what it is I wanted to do.

After taking a year off serving tables, I came to realization that I wanted to take advantage of my ability to write in order to perpetuate my dreams of seeing the world. I transferred up to Appalachian State University this past semester to make those dreams a reality and begin my journey of attempting to write in hopes of funding my adventures. While I am still in the early stages of this process, I am applying this upcoming semester for a study abroad program the following semester to continue my travels across the globe. Hopefully this will set me up for future opportunities and possible internships the summer of 2018 to put some experience under my belt.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page